• Bookmark

    Buyee

Ratings On Other Platforms

Reviews.io
4.2 / 5
Corporate Values

Overview

Buyee has a consumer rating of 3.58 stars from 274 reviews indicating that most customers are generally satisfied with their purchases. Consumers satisfied with Buyee most frequently mention customer service, shipping options and yahoo auctions.Buyee ranks 16th among Mail Forwarding sites.

  • Service
    50
  • Value
    48
  • Shipping
    50
  • Returns
    37
  • Quality
    45
Positive reviews (last 12 months): 0%
Positive
0
Neutral
0
Negative
32
View ratings trends
80
See all photos

What reviewers want you to know

Positive highlights

  • Their customer service is excellent and responds quickly to inquiries.

Critical highlights

No critical highlights yet

How would you rate Buyee?
Top Positive Review

“Prompt and trustworthy”

Katie H.
6/25/20

I have been using buyee for about a year now and using their automated bid/checkout process makes shopping for items in japan very easy. I appreciate them being willing to hold my items for free during the pandemic shipping limitations as well!

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“No buyer protection policy!”

Phuc M.
4/10/22

Malicious sellers can scam you by hiding a high delivery fee in the original pages like Yahoo Auction Japan. Buyee's pages do not reflect that, and will not care to protect you. They put small hints saying that when the user confirm the order, all responsibilities are on the user. If you don't speak Japanese, or are just usually careless about legal terms and small notices when shopping online, avoid using this service.

See critical reviews

Reviews (274)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

Reviews that mention popular keywords

customer service (45)
thachn6
1 review
0 helpful votes
April 5th, 2022

Beware of this site, they are scammers! They removed he original package of the item to save the shipping cost. They didn't check the items to make sure the sellers sent the correct items when it is their job. I recommend not to buy anything on Buyee. You will never get what you paid for! Hidden fees and unrealistic fees all over the place!

Tip for consumers:
It's almost considered a scam site!

Products used:
DVDs

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
janets1866
1 review
0 helpful votes
May 7th, 2022

I understood that shipping is usually expensive but I have to pay in order to dispose a package? I hate this app

Tip for consumers:
If you’re willing to pay more than the actual cost of the item go ahead but shipping is always $20+

Products used:
Collectibles

Shipping
lvx2
1 review
1 helpful vote
May 6th, 2022

They ban my account, maybe because I used their 5% off with "99 times of uses per user".

I tried to order something 3 weeks ago, and I tried to order when they have discounts with Rakuten, then their website f***ed up and I failed to get one.

Then this week finally the seller gets some stuff again, I purchased with their 5% off coupon, which I only used once, I only have one account, they ban me.

Actually I didn't notice I was banned until i found the money paid got back.

I tried to login, no help. Try to reset password, no help.

Asked customer service, they spent two days and told me my account is banned, they can't tell me why.

Think about it, you have something really hot and want to buy them, how much time is wasted because their stupid techs, and their customer service.

AND you think the order submission is automated, because everything seems to be like that, it is not, there are hours of delay after you submit. Is this website actually operated by real human labors?

Just avoid them. They are NOT trustworthy. A waste of your time. Just avoid them especially you are pursuing for something with limited availability, they will f*** up the timeline, and slow in response. Google Translate is your best friend, you don't need them.

Tip for consumers:
They are slow, just avoid using them

Service
Value
Quality
kemalk5
1 review
4 helpful votes
January 28th, 2022
Verified purchase

I bought tape cassette pack from buyee, they divided to pack in 2 separete parcel and charged me 2 times shipping fee, even i complain for why got charged to single order for 2 times shipping fee? They answered that not their responsibility, They are crook, they are cheating their customers as much as they can. They had very stupid, lazy and awful customer service, BEWARE FOR BUYEE! They are real crook establishment.

vali7
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 17th, 2021
Verified purchase

DISHONEST COMPANY! Pease read all negative reviews as they truly tell you what the company is by the way they handle orders which had issues. Even their Facebook page has no rating feature enabled, guess why?

I have made a purchase on Mercari Japan ONLY because buyee had this major campaign advertising mercari on their website. I had no clue what mercari was. The item I have purchased was described as NO visible signs of use/damage, but what arrived was an old, scratched and discolored version of it. I have reached out to buyee immediately and explained the situation. The support rep told me that because my plan was Lite they are not liable for anything. When I have asked them to do the bare minimum - to leave a NEGATIVE FEEDBACK to seller they refused to do it telling me they are not going to do it as the seller will give THEM a negative feedback. If you feel safe buying from Japan because you believe people are honest there think twice. Buyee does not abide by usual standards of Japanese customer service. Needless to say I will never purchase anything from them again and will discourage all my friends to do it. They are DISHONEST! P. S if you open a claim via PayPal because you have used it as mean of your payment for your Buyee purchase Buyee will blacklist you. They are THAT DISHONEST

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
francyc
1 review
0 helpful votes
July 3rd, 2020

I use Buyee to buy some collectibles that are only available in Japan, so I basically have no other choice.
Fees are pretty high, but service is accurate and quick. I would recomand!

adnand6
1 review
3 helpful votes
April 29th, 2020

Worst online company ever, I bought my items 2 months ago, till now I didn't receive it. Also, they cheat you with the delivery charges and charge you twice - claiming that they received the shipment on two-parts. Till now I didn't receive my baby diapers
PLEASE NEVER USE BUYEE.JP

IT IS THE WORST
WORST COMPANY EVER
SHAME ON YOU

ailixaf
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
February 22nd, 2022

I doubt that this review will do much in the long run, but Buyee priorities the Seller, their profit margin, and the unhappiness of their customers.

I used it for a year before I moved onto another proxy that did a much better job (fees were plain and laid out) and who passed on shipping discounts to their customers.

Unfortunately, Buyee has pressed matters with competitors and basically ensured they have a monopoly over the second hand site Japan Mercari.

Please don't support this company. They don't deserve the profit they make out of you, especially when they aren't upfront about how expensive their commission is, how high shipping rates are, nor from how they never help the Buyer when they have a problem.

Attached please find an example of how Buyee takes your $10 for consolidation and haphazardly puts it all together in a bigger box (they don't even unpack and repack your items).

Tip for consumers:
Don’t. Use another proxy.

Products used:
All, but shipping was $80 for a small box.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
iwana1
1 review
0 helpful votes
May 9th, 2020

Buyee service is excellent and beyond standard. Love to use it. Shipping is fast. Item delivered promptly.
Customer service is also good.

ah609
1 review
0 helpful votes
March 20th, 2022

In february i purchased a twice lightstick for their concert from jyp japan and used buyee for the international shipping. I was not informed of any of their terms & conditions before or after purchase nor were their terms and conditions stated anywhere on their website. I realized that it had been awhile since i paid for my item and saw that i had gotten several emails about paying for shipping arrangements (which i have never even heard of before.) i emailed back saying i wanted to cancel my item because the shipping was $35 + many other ludicrous fees. They stated that i cannot cancel my order because once the purchase has been conducted, any changes or cancellations are not accepted (again never heard of not being able to cancel a package, ridiculous). After several emails back and forth, they are now stating that if i would like to discard my package i have to pay for the package again and pay for several absolute ridiculous fees, most of which seem to simply be made-up for them to make even more money off of users. I also tried removing MY credit card from my account on their website and am unable to because of outstanding payments, which again is absolutely insane and considering i own that credit card i should be able to remove it no matter what. Please never ever ever use this website as you will only be met with fees upon fees, unhelpful customer support workers, and scamming.

Tip for consumers:
don’t

Products used:
didnt get my product & no longer want it due to the obscene amount of fees

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
reubens47
1 review
1 helpful vote
November 26th, 2020

I ordered 12 packages and I only received one. I contacted the customer service and they said their only job is to send the items and they only provided me the tracking mumber. As a result, I as the consumer should be the one responsible to look for the items and that's it. This is the most horrible experience I have ever encountered.

brodyp11
1 review
5 helpful votes
January 11th, 2022

They will charge you outrages fees and won't tell you until it's too late and the item gets to there warehouse then will call you dumb expecting you to have known you would get $420 fees on a $10 item and offer no compensation and say they are sorry complete waste of money better off buying from eBay

Tip for consumers:
Don't use it unless your made of money

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
paulinal19
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 3rd, 2020

I'm always very satisfied with purchasing items on Buyee. You can find many unique things for quite reasonable prices. From time to time the website offers coupons, so that the items You purchase or shipping get cheaper. The items You order are purchased reay fast. It usually also doesn't take a lot of days for them to come to the Buyee warehouse. When it comes to the Customer Service, they respond quite quickly, which is also very good. I'm generally satisfied with purchasing on Buyee.

abigailm119
1 review
0 helpful votes
November 21st, 2020

I've used Buyee multiple times specifically to buy anime goods from Mercari Japan. I've always been able to find what I'm looking for even when looking for rare items. Very easy to use and they often have useful coupons. Most recently when I used them they had a whole period of having no service fee, usually it would be another $5 on top of the item price so this was super useful. I'm definitely using them again.

bordeir
1 review
0 helpful votes
February 18th, 2022

I bought at the beginning of November 2021 one Nintendo 3ds console from Mercari. All good until 15 of the same month when it was the last time I receive an update. Is 18 of February 2022, the parcel is lost, Buyee refuses to answer or help me with this problem and the Japan post is not helping either since they told me to contact the expeditor.
I am from the Eastern Europe ( the ex-communist side) and this is literally the worst customer support and parcel tracking I have ever got.

Tip for consumers:
Do not ever buys something from Buyee unless you are ready to spent more on shipping than on the product itself

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
marlonr30
1 review
0 helpful votes
July 8th, 2020

The fees are more expensive and the item I bought took ages for it to come but other than that it's an ok website to use. I recommend for people who want to buy stuff from Japan.

katieh278
1 review
0 helpful votes
June 25th, 2020

I have been using buyee for about a year now and using their automated bid/checkout process makes shopping for items in japan very easy. I appreciate them being willing to hold my items for free during the pandemic shipping limitations as well!

ls622
1 review
0 helpful votes
April 4th, 2022

I bought something from here under the guise that I would get ¥5,000 coupon off (about $40 usd) of shipping. Super awesome right?! Not. When I selected this coupon, they sent my package with a tracking number. The number said for days "returned to sender". I thought this was some sort of mistake and waited for it to update.
It didn't update. Buyee let me know that my package was returned because the weight on the package was inconsistent with the labeling. Ok. Super frustrating and not my fault so I will contact support. I contact saying basically "hey. You guys messed up and now my package won't even arrive on time and I already used the coupon so I can't use it again for shipping. Can I get another?"

The nerve. They said "no it clearly says that if the package is returned to us for any reason you won't get another coupon" WHAT? How is it MY fault that someone in THEIR company wrote the wrong label? Now I have SUPER delayed shipping AND have to pay $40 out of pocket, which had I known prior I probably wouldn't have bought anything at all.

Anyway, I'm convinced it was a purposefully made mistake to avoid having to give me any shipping for free which is really $#*!ty by this company.

Tip for consumers:
They are going to scam you. Read the fine print.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
sylvians
1 review
0 helpful votes
July 19th, 2020

So happy to grab an unused Laserdisc of Hiroshima Mon Amour at Yahoo! Japan Auction. I've seen one in a local shop 30 years ago but I couldn't afford it at that time.

It's not my first time to use Buyee's service and I am very satisfied with their service. Sometimes, you can get discount coupons from their website but it really depends on your luck.

mikur
1 review
0 helpful votes
February 17th, 2022

Theres hidden fees everywhere. I bought 700 yen worth of small keychains, and now i have to pay 3000 yen shipping or they will be thrown out. Only purchase from here if your willing to pay more towards the service than the item your buying.

Service
Shipping
darrenl126
1 review
0 helpful votes
November 17th, 2020

Have used Buyee many times over the years and is satisfied with their service and most of all convenience when bidding for items. No deposit or extra fees (eg paypal charge) needed unlike some other proxy sites. Items are almost never lost in my experience. Overseas shipping charges are also fair and almost all options one can think of are available.

However, there are a couple of minuses:
1. No option to consolidate shipping for multiple purchases from the same buyer.
So if u buy 10 items from a buyer in one day, u get charged 10 shipping and 10 bank fees even if its more logical for the seller to sens u all 10 items at once, and for the charges to be paid in one go. In my view, this is the greatest flaw of Buyee as the cost can add up.

2. No option of repacking after consolidation. When the packages are conslidated, they are literally just put together into a bigger box. If they remove the original packaging during consolidation, space and weight can be saved equating to a lower cost. What's more, consolidation costs 1000 yen, which would be a nice price if repacking was done but a little steep otherwise.

3. Unable to bid for certain items. While I can understand the rationale for some categories, I am perplexed that I could not even bid for collector's prepaid cards that usually have values of just 500yen. Thankfully not all sites stick so rigidly to whichever regulation this is...

All in all, I would recommend Buyee especially for single purchases. If you are buying many items from the aame seller in one day, or your items have bulky packaging, it might be cheaper to use a different site.

bleachg
1 review
0 helpful votes
April 6th, 2022

This website is a pain in the $#*!. The website is so difficult to even process. The shipping fees are outrageous. I tried ordering my first package from this website from Mercari Japan. I was supposed to have a 5000 yen off coupon even though I claimed it. I couldn't even find the area to even put the coupons. A package that I ordered said no cancellations but still had a cancel button? That seems somewhat sketchy. Even on PayPal (What I used to pay), history of the transactions wouldn't show up? Back to the package that I accidentally cancelled because I thought I needed to put in the shipping and coupon. You really disappointed me Buyee :(

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
tylerf82
1 review
5 helpful votes
May 21st, 2020

Bad business, bought and paid for an item with no warnings or issues only to later find out that they are unable to ship said item internationally (USA) to me and my only options are to ship my item domestically (Japan) or dispose of my item with no refund!?!?!

lucyh143
1 review
1 helpful vote
December 17th, 2020

Thank you for a smooth and pleasant transaction. Buyee is always so easy to order items and track when items have shipped out. I like how their customer support always answers questions within a day or two. Packages are well consolidated as well. :)

christopherw597
1 review
5 helpful votes
March 21st, 2020

[Edit: After about a month of investigation into my case, I got a full refund for the damaged items. So there's that. However, the customer experience was still extremely bad and it took a lot of effort to just get them to even consider "investigating" (they just looked at the photos of the items I sent them). So all in all, the one star still is valid in my opinion, but I still wanted to mention that in the end they seemed to have seen the problem and gave the refund.]

NOT RECOMMENDED for collector items or even just books. There are just two options: EITHER you send the package in the standard packaging, which is fine for national shipping, but inappropriate for international shipping. So the goods often arrive overseas with damage. OR you can select (expensive) protective packaging and have your package so overly protective packed and with so much wasted plastic and material, that it just blows up the shipping costs.

And don't even get me started on the customer "support".

They're all nice and friendly and I'm sure they're good people, but here's the thing:

Very rarely do they understand what the actual problem is in the first message. Usually I had to explain my issue multiple times until they actually understood what needed to be done.

As long as it all went well considering delivery and shipping, there were no problems (obviously), but as soon as problems occurred and I was dependent on their customer support to help me, I was left alone and had to pay for it.
My package was sent back because I wasn't notified. I had to pay shipping costs a second time because Buyee refused to check with their carrier to request a refund of shipping costs, so I wouldn't have to pay twice.

Not using this service again. They've lost my trust when it mattered.

Q&A (4)

Question:

How easy is it to get a hold of customer service at buyee?

Answer:

Well the thing is they do correspond with you, but either way they don´t understand what they wrote or they just having fun with writing useless sensless E-Mail which completley ignore the context of what you wrote to them before which is just frustrating for everybody, cause the might think, hey we are overseas... so what can they do right?!

By Matt A.
See more answers (4)
Question:

What made you choose buyee over similar businesses?

Answer:

Didn't know at the time when I used them that there were alternatives.

By Ailixa F.
See more answers (5)
Question:

Are there other similar companies to buyee that are less expensive or better?

Answer:

Japan shopping service and zen market are both way better. Buyee is such a scam and a bad company

By Livvie B.
See more answers (4)
Question:

Can you share a success story using buyee?

Answer:

One where I was really happy and wasn't drowned by fees? No.

By Ailixa F.
See more answers (4)

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the Buyee staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

Buyee - Bid on Yahoo Japan Auctions in Real-Time. Shop on Popular Japanese Websites!

How do I know I can trust these reviews about Buyee?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members
Have a question about Buyee?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business