• Bookmark

    Melaninful

Ratings On Other Platforms

Trustpilot
2.5 / 5
Better Business Bureau
1 / 5
Corporate Values

Overview

Melaninful has a consumer rating of 2.77 stars from 94 reviews indicating that most customers are generally dissatisfied with their purchases. Consumers complaining about Melaninful most frequently mention customer service and tracking number problems. Melaninful ranks 102nd among Gifts Other sites.

  • Service
    22
  • Value
    21
  • Shipping
    21
  • Returns
    13
  • Quality
    20
Positive reviews (last 12 months): 65%
Positive
13
Neutral
0
Negative
7
View ratings trends
60
See all photos

What reviewers want you to know

Positive highlights

No positive highlights yet

Critical highlights

  • IF in fact you are a Black owned company, SHAME ON YOU!
  • They don't give a phone number or call you to discuss the problem.
How would you rate Melaninful?
Top Positive Review

“Really like this company and love their product!”

Cavill H.
8/4/21

I ordered the Huey hoodies for me and my sons 3 weeks ago, it takes a little bit long but it's worth the waiting. We love the hoodies so so much. My son wears it all the time and he received nothing else but compliments. The fabric is SOOOOOO soft and we really like it. The company's service was so nice and helpful; they solve things through emails quite quick. Highly recommended!

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“Good quality puzzle”

Ash A.
6/16/20

But the box was bent out of shape when it arrived because it was placed in a bag to be shipped. Also, the puzzle was almost completely put together. It took me about 20 minutes to take it apart. I expected more, especially since the puzzle was $60. The company definitely isn't black owned either. I would simply save my dollars if I were you. I will not be supporting this business any further.

See critical reviews

Reviews (94)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

Reviews that mention popular keywords

company (29) phone number (5) order (37)
cavillh
1 review
1 helpful vote
August 4th, 2021

I ordered the Huey hoodies for me and my sons 3 weeks ago, it takes a little bit long but it's worth the waiting. We love the hoodies so so much. My son wears it all the time and he received nothing else but compliments. The fabric is SOOOOOO soft and we really like it. The company's service was so nice and helpful; they solve things through emails quite quick. Highly recommended!

Tip for consumers:
Carefully look up to your size in the size chart

Products used:
Hoodie

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
whitneys86
1 review
31 helpful votes
June 8th, 2020

I placed my order in March for Mother's Day. My order never came. They are still giving me the run around and no refund. I got an update from Fedex saying they haven't received any shipping information since the label was created so my shipping label and tracking number has expired due to it being over 30 days. This is ridiculous, and I'm upset because that's $80 that I can't get back. Not to mention I've had to buy 2 new gifts after being scammed out of my $80. If you have any common sense you'd listen to these reviews and not purchase from these SCAM ARTISTS!

andersonk20
1 review
9 helpful votes
January 19th, 2021

I am very happy with my order. Nice designs, good quality. Delivery took quite long but I received the products anyway and they're awesome.

Products used:
wall canvas

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
kyronem
1 review
10 helpful votes
January 23rd, 2021

I just love them! From the way their stuff is designed, produced, and even customized, to the way they got me in touch. I saw some complaining that it takes quite long for delivery, but it's absolutely fine for me :))

Products used:
All-over hoodie, shorts, bedding set

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
renatas17
1 review
11 helpful votes
August 28th, 2020

For starters customer service is everything and there's sucks. This company's responses to my emails were very rude and unprofessional. The order takes forever to ship and even longer to get a tracking number. Clothes are very cheap in quality and run extremely small. If your item does not fit you have just wasted your money. They don't offer any returns or exchanges. I'll never shop here again!

asha37
1 review
11 helpful votes
June 16th, 2020

But the box was bent out of shape when it arrived because it was placed in a bag to be shipped. Also, the puzzle was almost completely put together. It took me about 20 minutes to take it apart. I expected more, especially since the puzzle was $60. The company definitely isn't black owned either. I would simply save my dollars if I were you. I will not be supporting this business any further.

deniseg334
1 review
9 helpful votes
June 22nd, 2020

I looked for a particular t shirt and found this melaninful website with the merchandise I was looking for. I quickly ordered the t shirt, noticed a disclaimer that I had 24 hrs to cancel the order, and then, because I had never heard of this company, decided to research the company to make sure it wasn't a scam. I know I should have done so before ordering, but better late than never, right? Upon reading all of the negative reviews, most notably that this website is a scam, I de idea to immediately email the vendor to cancel my order. I received an email from Tashard that I could not cancel because the order had already been processed. I was very angry and said that I was gonna fight this and report him. I received an email from Tashard about 15 days after ordering stating that my order had been ship, if I dont receive it, it is because it had been lost, we are not a scam, etc. That made me even more suspicious because I have never received an email from a vendor ensuring me that they weren't a scam, why would they need to do that? Anyway, on June 20, I received my order... 15bdays after ordering and I'm pretty satisfied with the shirt. It was what I was expecting. I was very concerned after reading the reviews, but I did receive the merchandise as ordered. Now, I cant say that I would order from this vendor again because I may have just gotten lucky. The picture posted is after I had already worn it and put it away in an overcrowded drawer. It didnt arrive wrinkled.

janetc15
96 reviews
375 helpful votes
May 12th, 2021

This website is a scam website. Their address in USA is a fake. It's the same address being used by the parent company for another brand called Lit Activewear. Both Chinese drop shipping websites selling horrible quality products. I'm very disappointed that these people have the nerves to create and fake a black-owned business and then profit off the movement and the black community. It's so messed up to the point where no one should support this type of shadiness. Stay away!

makitaw
1 review
6 helpful votes
December 8th, 2020

DO NOT waste your money. This is low quality, too small clothes that are clearly not custom made nor actual fabric! You can buy the same stuff for $10 at any hood swap meet or beauty supply store! And you can't return any of it.

robynm159
1 review
3 helpful votes
November 13th, 2020

Although it arrived quickly, I was unhappy with my purchase and the company offers no exchanges. Poor customer service.

ninas144
1 review
13 helpful votes
June 12th, 2020

I waited for two months for this crap that came from China NOT Chicago. Horrible quality. SCAMMERS

ebonyt11
1 review
11 helpful votes
June 10th, 2020

I bought this journal as a birthday gift for my beloved daughter and she loved it. Definitely will buy more!

roslynj4
1 review
18 helpful votes
June 8th, 2020

I have been waiting over a month for 2 sweatshirts. I have received emails from the company with a tracking number that says my items have been in New York City for a few weeks. I filed a dispute with PayPal because these shirts cost $138.00. It's a sham that people will scam you when you offer your support. Never again will I order from a site that's advertised on social media.

christopherv178
1 review
11 helpful votes
July 11th, 2020

If I can give a negative star I would. I ordered a shirt from this company an have yet to. Receive a valid update on my purchase. There is no telephone number to speak to anyone about my purchase. I do not recommend anyone order anything from this organization. I'm in the process of trying to get my refund back. My order continues to change with information received. I just want my money back.

martinw215
1 review
2 helpful votes
June 10th, 2020

I ordered 5 items from Melaninful over 3 separate orders. I received 2 of the 5 items. Tracking information said I had. I notified the company and received a response from Tashard telling me to check my mailbox. I responded saying that I had and had also been to my servicing post office. We exchanged several emails (he ignored my request for a phone number) with him continuing to tell me to check my mailbox. Mind you, one of the items I purchased was a rug WHICH WON'T FIT IN A MAILBOX. The tracker for the rug says it was delivered by San Francisco Express. It doesn't say to where. Please note that I live in Las Vegas. I brought up that point. Response again was to check my mailbox. The rug was supposed to be a birthday gift for the leader of my group where one of our objectives is to promote supporting black businesses. Go figure.

rodneyj109
1 review
7 helpful votes
February 24th, 2021

I fell for this Malcolm X hoodie, ordered and it received after 3 weeks (because it is made-to-order as claimed on their site). Very comfortable. It just gives kinda feeling of pride. Support black culture!

Tip for consumers:
Check out the size chart before ordering

Products used:
All over hoodie

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
jayr610
1 review
1 helpful vote
August 10th, 2021

Just ordered a hoodie 2 weeks ago and got it yesterday. The material is comfortable and warm, the design is def fire. Two weeks for shipping is not so long but the company still emailed to notify me with late delivery due to pandemic. I'm satisfied with this purchase. Come back later and highly recommend!

Tip for consumers:
Nothing

Products used:
Hoodie

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
symoned2
1 review
3 helpful votes
September 11th, 2020

I ordered a tshirt for my girlfriend from here My thoughts on the experience:
- The shirt came after a month and some change
- I did not receive a tracking code until towards the end of that time frame, and it was not that informative, nor was the anticipated date of delivery accurate (delivery provider was DHL)
- We did get the tshirt, and it was as shown! The material is top notch and we both loved it so much, that I ordered the same design in cropped hoodie form just now

NOTE: Although they sell themselves as a black owned company from Detroit, I HIGHLY doubt this, as when I ordered via PayPal, I received a notification saying that an order just went through for company "ACTIO PTE. LTD.".

If you look this up, it's a Singapore owned company with multiple incorporations, a majority internet business related. See here: https://www.sgpbusiness.com/company/Actio-Pte-Ltd

carriet131
1 review
3 helpful votes
May 7th, 2021

Looking for my last African 2 legging black and beige. Then I will take pictures in all of my items at the same time and summit.
So far I have loved everything I've purchased.

Tip for consumers:
They have various sizes for you.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
dannyb263
1 review
15 helpful votes
July 31st, 2020

I kind of impulse-bought a pair of shorts from their site. I came here and saw all the negative press as well as on their Instagram page so I decided to just cancel my order and get a refund. I anticipated a bunch of road blocks and poor correspondence (as has been the case with many people according to reviews here and elsewhere), but no. I simply sent an email requesting cancellation and a refund and they promptly responded and sent my money back within the same day.

robertf2379
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 19th, 2021

I ordered some sweatshirts which was a horrible mistakes. They were very light with thin material. The 3XL fit like a med. Beware this is a Chinese Company lying to Black people that it is Black Owned. The product takes about 2 months to arrive from China. There is a No Return Policy on these horrible over priced products.

Tip for consumers:
I ordered some sweatshirts which was a horrible mistakes. They were very light with thin material. The 3XL fit like a med. Beware this is a Chinese Company lying to Black people that it is Black Owned. The product takes about 2 months to arrive from China. There is a No Return Policy on these horrible over priced products.

Products used:
hoodie

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
katyam5
1 review
20 helpful votes
July 23rd, 2020

Do not purchase anything from this place. They would leave you on waiting for months. They are taking their products from a third party place and the quality is horrible. Besides, they are actually an asian owned clothing place and the owner is Vietnamese not black. They are making coins by appropriating our culture and does not even have a black model. They are disgusting vultures, DO NOT PURCHASE FROM THEM.

smithk49
1 review
9 helpful votes
October 2nd, 2020

Just bought some hoodies and joggers from July, find out they are good company which provide good products with great quality. I saw very much complaints about this business, though i saw your problem but i can not beleive. In my opinion, you guys may be not careful or too impatient for them to deliver the products. I am going to get some more and beleive this company is the one that help me recall my love for my people - the African.

patriciab2025
0 reviews
0 helpful votes
January 3rd, 2022
Verified purchase

This was my first time ordering from this company. No customer service, I have not been able to receive my items ordered in November for Christmas and its January now! When they do email you back they provide an automated response with a DHL tracking number that does not exist. It is a shame that they refuse to talk to you or refund your purchase. I have been contacting them almost daily after not receiving my items shortly before Christmas. The least they could do if they were a real company is contact the customer with specific details like every other company. Receiving the same automated email with false information is an insult when you try to support a small business. Save your money, don't order from them!

Tip for consumers:
This may not be a real company, I am still trying to get a refund for items they did not send to me

Service
Shipping
pattib195
2 reviews
6 helpful votes
April 4th, 2021

I have ordered two sweat suits. I love them both. No, it isn't Black owned but I like their products. It takes a little longer to receive but they do provide adequate communication on the status.

Tip for consumers:
Be patient.

Products used:
Two jogging suits

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality

Q&A (5)

Answer:

This is not a black-owned company. They are based in Vietnam and their employees are all Vietnamese. They dont even have a black model for their products as you can see on their instagram. Their foudner is a vietnamese man and they are scamming and making profit using our culture

By Tracy O.
See more answers (2)
Answer:

It was supposed to be a good store that specific art that my son's would like and I never had any problems with website's before so I took the chance to try it out and I wished I didn't! I need this bed set before Christmas Eve! This is awful!

By Carolyn H.
See more answers (7)
Answer:

Please tell me what to do, I need to know what is going on with my order all I want is the second bed set and I am done

By Carolyn H.
See more answers (5)
Answer:

I have ordered 4 times and received tracking info within 2weeks and received the product within 4 weeks. Excellent quality products and very much worth the wait.

By Henry W.
See more answers (3)
Answer:

It is located in vietnam. The address on their website is an address of a shipping company, which does not have any connection to them. They are a FRAUD

By Tracy O.
See more answers (3)

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the Melaninful staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

How do I know I can trust these reviews about Melaninful?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members

See reviews as you browse with our Chrome extension

2.8
94 reviews
Have a question about Melaninful?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business