Richard G.

Contributor Level

Total Points

2 Reviews by Richard


Magellan GPS will not back their products to the consumer. I have have went through (2) Adventure Pro GPS units in the past two years. Yamaha has been great and has sent me two replacement units. However, now the 3rd GPS has done the same thing the first two defective units have done. The GPS "freezes up" in the start up screen and will not progress beyond the start screen. My last unit lasted for one casual ride in my Yamaha YXZ. I contacted Magellan GPS support to explain the problem to them. After 15 e-mails and sending numerous pictures to them, their response was "Yes, you have a defective unit, talk to someone else about it, take it back where you purchased." When I complained and explained to them that this is my 3rd unit in less than 2 years and that Yamaha has already replaced two of these units and I would like some help from them, I was basically told " too bad". They actually said, " Sorry, that's our policy, we don't deal with it, sorry for the inconvenience, consider purchasing another Magellan product." UNBELIEVABLE! This company could care less about supporting the consumer who buys their product, and will offer no support when you have issues. Magellan GPS is definitely to be avoided, BUYER BEWARE! Do yourself a favor and purchase your GPS from a company that cares about the customer and will offer assistance when you have a problem and actually replace their agreed to defective product. Buy from a reputable company with good customer service. Magellan GPS is neither in my opinion.! AVOID MAGELLAN!


I ordered wheels which were guaranteed to fit my vehicle, which stated no shipping costs on my order which included brakes and brake lube. Once I punched in credit card number, website automatically charged shipping on brakes and lube. I called immediately to complain and agent said " I will cancel this order, remove shipping charges and here is link to new order with shipping costs removed. I asked to make sure he cancelled as I didn't want 2 orders to deal with and was told, " no problem, it is cancelled" I then received e mails telling me both orders had shipped. I called and spoke to someone else who told me sorry, we'll reroute 2nd shipment. I told them I have to drive 40 miles round trip to return (closest UPS store, no pickup) so please be sure. Ended up with 8 wheels, 2 sets brakes, and 1 brake lube. Four boxes of wheels came of which I opened one box. Tried wheel for figment only to find wheel too thick to allow for lug but safe install, so do not fit. Called three times in next days waiting for return authorization and return shipping labels which finally came, only after I signed a picture ( and returned to them) which said I knew how to pack wheels for return. I explained that I only opened one box and didn't need a kindergarten picture to reship as I didn't open 3 of 4 boxes. I reshipped all wheels, which they received. In the meantime I called my card issuer to tell them of all the problems I am having and they said someone will be assigned to my case within 2 weeks. I contacted CARID after UPS said they received and asked about my refund and was told they are inspecting wheels. I stated I only opened one box, so if there was a problem with wheels, it is because wheels were packed that way when they were originally shipped. I then told them I had contacted my credit issuer to tell them off all the problems. Now, I get e mail from them saying that because I contacted card company, they will only issue " store credit" until this plays out. So they have $900 dollars of my money and I have a $20 set of brakes. Stay away from this place unless you want to deal with bunch of incompetent people and lose your money. Worst ever!

Carid C. – CARiD Rep

Dear Richard,

Please, accept our sincerest apologies for the issue you have recently experienced and poor assistance provided in this regard.

This is not how we usually work and we would appreciate an opportunity to look deeper into the issue and facilitate the resolution process for you. CARiD team is doing its best in order to provide each and every client with a top-notch customer service during these challenging times for our country and the whole world.

Please, email me directly at with your order details and i will assist you further as well as offer compensation for the inconveniences caused.

Looking forward to your response!

Consumer Relations Department at

Richard hasn’t received any votes.

Richard hasn’t received any thanks yous.

Richard doesn’t have any fans yet.

Richard isn’t following anybody yet.


Similar Reviewers on Sitejabber

Sam T. reviewed CARiD

I have never put in a review of any kind before. I think they are kind of meaningless. However, I...

Nina H. reviewed CARiD

Was called by delivery late Friday afternoon, but didn't have service and didn't hear VM till...