We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
  • Bookmark

    Scratch

Corporate Values

Overview

Scratch has a consumer rating of 2.79 stars from 34 reviews indicating that most customers are generally dissatisfied with their purchases. Scratch ranks 15th among Kids Educational Resources sites.

  • Service
    9
  • Value
    8
  • Shipping
    5
  • Returns
    6
  • Quality
    8
Positive reviews (last 12 months): 23.8%
Positive
5
Neutral
5
Negative
11
View ratings trends
13
See all photos
How would you rate Scratch?
Top Positive Review

“Scratch”

Shreya S.
11/11/20

Scratch is a very nice site! Its helps me code games, stories and contests! The best part is you can remix projects others have made and share them. I love scratch!

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“Scratch destroyed my life”

LaikaChaan -.
8/1/20

Things were going fine until i saw so many trolls and scratch blocked my account for no reason. I did the appeal but they ignored it. NEVER GOING ON SCRATCH AGAIN.

See critical reviews

Reviews (34)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

laikachaan
1 review
5 helpful votes
August 1st, 2020

Things were going fine until i saw so many trolls and scratch blocked my account for no reason. I did the appeal but they ignored it. NEVER GOING ON SCRATCH AGAIN.

silasr22
1 review
4 helpful votes
March 14th, 2021

I was just scrolling through my friends profile Glimmerbury. When all of a sudden I click on one of her friends profiles and it tells me my network was banned. I've sent several messages through their contact us and email over 10 WEEKS AGO AND STILL NO RESPONSE! I would not recommend this site.

Tip for consumers:
Don’t scroll through your friends profile if you don’t want to get banned I guess LOL

Products used:
None

non670
6 reviews
0 helpful votes
May 24th, 2021

Pros:
-The coding is the best thing about, it started the block coding type of coding, which that is good;)
-Some projects are actually good and even if some are overrated trash animators, There animations are sometimes really really well done.
Cons:
-The scratch team can be a little crazy with there ban reason, THEY CAN BAN YOU BECAUSE OF SOMETHING ON THE FORUMS! But there's no trouble there.
-they banned scratchers because of the crummy scratchers wiki, photos are the pros and cons!

Thanks!

Tip for consumers:
Make sure to be real careful my scratchers, because it can get a little crazy when you get banned.

Products used:
Coding, and stuff

hannahs306
1 review
0 helpful votes
January 6th, 2021

There are so many Gacha life protects like mine and mine got reported this is not the first time some one has tried to report my project but last time it was my pitcher but it was some one how bid not like the fact my prow foal pitcher was gay

suohgenji
1 review
0 helpful votes
April 9th, 2021

First the bad way: who would ban a account thats close to 100 followers? And why would they ban someone who did nothing (IP ban 3rd day) what the! He ST sucks its the worst ST ever they need to replace them
Good way: i got lot of followers and it a good community and some of my friends have it too

Tip for consumers:
its goood and baad

perryt42
1 review
4 helpful votes
August 2nd, 2020

When I first joined Scratch in 2016, it was much better until 2018 when trolls and bullies started ganging up on me. 2020 is probably worse though, because the ST banned me, just because of the Crummy Scratchers Wiki, and they thought it was gossip and insults, but it was just valid criticism to help the Scratchers improve. I also got bullied a lot for following people, and why get mad at someone when they follow you? I've also been through a bunch of flame wars and all of that, and people who were in the flame wars even play the victim card.

bluec10
1 review
7 helpful votes
August 2nd, 2020

Hello. I am TPRisesAgain.

So I was in Scratch for 7 years, and the old scratch in 2013-2014 is great. But then all those FNAF projects came and banned it. It's kinda troublesome, right? The UI is relatively easy to do, and it unleashed my creativity. But then MIT banned me for invalid reasons. I tried to do appeals but they ignored me for over a week.

So in my conclusion, this is an alright website, just that the moderators aren't very good.

iama4
1 review
0 helpful votes
March 30th, 2021

I love scratch since you can make, remix, share and lots more on it, including commenting and replying! Only thing is... Too many bullies and people are destroying this lovely site, and innocent people are being banned for no reason at all. Though, overall, it is the best site EVER. Btw follow me *******@TheManOfTheMan10 :) Usually I find coding with languages hard like C+++, Jave, Python... Scratch is the BEST AND EASIEST CODING LANGUAGE. Go now!
scratch.mit.edu GO MAKE YOUR ACCOUNT NOW. Until then, Scratch On!

By the way, I love coding in any language =-)

Tip for consumers:
Read the code to see what they do, or click them one by one and look on the right =-)

Remember, follow me @TheManOfTheMan10 =-D

Service
Value
Quality
lizh192
2 reviews
4 helpful votes
April 3rd, 2021

I have had an account for nearly three years now and I loved the website. But recently it turned into a political dumpster fire! The ST spends all their time blocking Christians and conservatives and they let people who are ped0ph! Ler$ stay on along with people who curse (I. E. *******@mn and h3!) but they never get banned! I was banned because someone asked me my thoughts on if I think trans girl peeps should be allowed in cis girl sports and I said no because it would be unfair. Then later BOOM one week IP ban! Later I asked a question to make sure my character was not offensive and it was not meant to be racist at all! What I asked was if it was racist to draw a fat alien with slanted eyes! Then they IP banned me! I did all this on a separate account from my main but they still blocked all my accounts! Later I spent a long time writing an appeal and they didn't even read it! Now I am permanently banned!;-; the st needs a dose of reality since they think that telling kids to support BLM and LGBTQ is not political but kids saying they are Christian is! Anyways please spread the message that I Niacan01 was banned!

Tip for consumers:
If you are a Christian or conservative don’t buy their “We support people of all religions” b#ll crap they are biased leftist who hate anyone who is not like them!

nikolasc1
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
January 1st, 2021
Verified purchase

They ghost the new players by not allowing them to ask any questions, Respond to them, Or even share.It's basically like while you are struggling to try to get to the top and you finally make a good project you can't even share it to the world and you are back to playing by yourself.It's hard and I really hate this system because they also keep asking for email which annoys me because I have a school computer and I can't use their password because I don't know it.It says 404 CaN't PoSt BeCaUsE yOu ArEn'T aUtHeRiZeD tO sEe ThIs PaGe which annoys me SO MUCH even though I am only a kid I bet you would hate this also but it has good sides too! The worst part is that I can't message them back about this because new players are ghosts so cons outweight pros. I would ask for my mom to put her email but she'd never EVER say yes.It's 45/100.

Service
Value
Returns
Quality
shreyas49
1 review
0 helpful votes
November 11th, 2020

Scratch is a very nice site!
Its helps me code games, stories and contests!
The best part is you can remix projects others have made and share them.
I love scratch!

lilyz21
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
April 27th, 2021

So, the good and bad.

The good: the code is easy to understand and MOST of the community is nice. Good for beginning coders.

Now the BAD. There are constantly those haters/copiers of the community or hate on your projects and profile bc they are jealous and copy your projects with no credit. Not to mention you can get muted for saying 'skype' or commenting on your own project, 'I took these screenshots on the projector so the quality is bad'. Still, mean comments go through. So, basically, scratch is used as a social media and it is good in that sense. I use it as a social media to talk during covid. BUT if you are not comfortable with a social media then don't go on.

liamf49
7 reviews
9 helpful votes
February 19th, 2021

Scratch is a good website for learning how to code. However, the website is so slow and it usually takes minutes to pull up my project.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
notn14
1 review
0 helpful votes
January 5th, 2021

Scratch is a good site to learn how to code, but you should probably use the offline version. Don't get me wrong, the community is a pretty cool place, but you can get banned for anything.

My account was IP banned on Christmas. The thing is, I wasn't muted, and I was warned 5 times - once for advertising a live-streaming event, once for expressing some self-stuff I was going to do because of 2020 and the stress. I even got a warning for making a Karen joke. Then, I was warned for asking for personal information, which I don't remember doing. The others, I can't remember.

An IP ban for minor things? That's kinda sus.

All-in-all, the site is great, but the moderators are pretty strict. If you really would like to code, stick to the offline version.

Tip for consumers:
Using the offline editor is safer. The community can get you banned for the simplest stuff. If you have a doubt about doing anything, even for a second, don't even do it. It might just get you banned.

Service
Value
subhashinin
1 review
0 helpful votes
August 23rd, 2021

I love this Scratch to do many Projects. And it is very interesting. But when we keep the coding as a conversation, if the person speaks with their mouth, it would be pretty Good!

wolfyr
1 review
0 helpful votes
September 14th, 2021

You can get an account block for saying the word "CRINGE".

Does that make any sense? Saying the word "CRINGE"? That gets you a PERMANENT BLOCK?
And it was just because I didn't like someone remixing projects just to get views on their projects, since they didn't edit any of their projects. B. T. W: I also said "I will report you if you don't leave" because the same guy thought it would be funny to get 18 ALT ACCOUNTS AND SPAM MY PROFILE. Yeah, that guy's still up and going on Scratch. And I'm blocked because I just said cringe.

And don't even TRY making a new account, even if it's for your school projects, they have NO REMORSE and WILL BLOCK THAT ONE TOO. They have NO EMPATHY, NO COMPASSION, NO REASONING, and most importantly... NO TIME TO HEAR ANYTHING! They will not respond to account appeals, no matter if it's an entire essay plus a few pictures proving your worthiness, you will be blocked if they simply see you interacting with a troll. They won't ban the troll ever by the way, that's never the case. They only ban the victim.

You're better off playing BYOB or uploading games on GameJolt, or using the offline editor and sharing projects on other websites... Because SCRATCH, even though seemingly in "good graces" by school systems, is NOT the way to go.

By the way, they don't even have a user block option. What a site! No wonder there's so many trolls :D

Tip for consumers:
If you use Scratch, literally don't interact. With ANYONE. Just share your projects with your friends and don't interact with front page users.... it ends up in situations like this one. I've seen other people get banned for more weird stuff.

Products used:
The projects that I had created. And other projects other users had shared.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
abdullaha425
1 review
1 helpful vote
March 15th, 2021

Scratch is a program it helps u learn how to code and alot more there r alot of good people there :)

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
bnxh
1 review
1 helpful vote
July 24th, 2021

So the coding is AMAZING. But some people hack... once somone got bann for A YEAR just for saying hi. But i got bann for making jokes.

Products used:
scracth

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
mayelap1
1 review
0 helpful votes
May 2nd, 2021

I love the app i can play games a more it is so cool you can play gacha life there it so cool just look up scratch gacha life or gacha life scratch.

joshh303
1 review
2 helpful votes
January 27th, 2021

100 FOLLOWER ACCOUNT BANNED WTF?

Ok, I have a bit of a long story so buckle in.

I really like the way the coding works. Coming from the point of view of someone who has basically no experience with code, it works pretty well. The tools are easy to learn and I'm a bit better at coding now.

The scratch moderator team sucks. Let me tell you my story on this website.

I started a religion as a joke. It was called "Clickstianity" and it was really funny. I was very clear that I was not discriminating against other religions, I was very nice to literally everyone, and I got permanently banned.

First, my original animation about the religion was taken down automatically because people mass-reported it. They said they would put it under review and that it should be back up soon. It never came back up. I made a new animation, same thing happened. The newest one I made did not actually taken down, which was good because I spent a lot of time on it. One user, was overly christian and was harassing me about my religion calling it "fake" and a "cult". I told someone else about this through scratch and was banned for a week for "spreading rumors". I waited out my week ban and got back. I made some more projects and eventually got 100 followers. There were always people who would be toxic and hate on me, but I dealt with it. A few days later I was banned AGAIN for "spreading rumors". Whenever you get banned, it shows an example of the message that got you banned. I got banned for the same message that I already got banned for! I wrote an appeal, it only took them a few days to respond. Their response:
Hi there,

The Scratch website is a website that serves as an educational resource for children and their parents, teachers and their students, and people new to programming to learn about programming skills. But when we see users who have been blocked and notified so many times, we start thinking that they're not really interested in Scratch anymore, and we can no longer trust them.

Based on your past history on the Scratch website, we don't think you'll be able to follow our Community Guidelines. Your account(s) will not be unblocked. Please do not use or make any Scratch accounts.

Why? They then proceeded to IP ban me, and any of my fans who were associated with the religion. Someone was literally accusing me of being a p*dophile, I reported him, and do you know how long he got banned? FOUR HOURS!

him2
1 review
1 helpful vote
June 8th, 2021

It's cool. But there is a problem. If someone reports someone Roget can be a lie. That happened to my freind.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
gggg3
1 review
0 helpful votes
August 18th, 2021

I don't recommend scratch at all. The moderation team suck, and the community is really toxic. There are bullies everywhere, and the scratch team (ST) don't do anything about it. The moderators can't be bothered to check messages for inappropriate comments, so they instead use a crappy filterbot which always detects the wrong things. (If you don't know, if the filterbot detects something wrong with your message you get a comment pause, where you can't comment for a certain period of time.) So, because of that, many people can't comment for long periods of time for saying something that doesn't even offend or hurt anyone. You also get banned for stupid reasons (see picture 2). In my case, I got banned for mentioning self harm and suicide and talking bad about scratchers. Firstly, I was talking bad about someone irl who DOESN'T EVEN HAVE SCRATCH and I got banned. Secondly, about the self harm and suicide, I was saying I HOPED SOMEONE DIDN'T suicide, and I was CHEERING UP SOMEONE WHO REGRETTED self harming! Also, Scratch kept banning Christians (for being christian), and then SAY THEY RESPECT ALL RELIGIONS! Look at first pic it means I cant ever go back on scratch! 1 STAR!

Tip for consumers:
Don't go on this site, unless you want to be bullied and banned for no reason

Service
Quality
alannab40
4 reviews
3 helpful votes
November 16th, 2019

This is the greatest creation ever. Kids love it! Made for literally everyone! Welcome people from different ages and backgrounds! Easy to use, and this really helps kids know what job they really want to have in the future!

wangj9
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
February 28th, 2020

Pls unblock my second account, hingcshan. Scratch has unblocked hingcs... (At least) but hingcshan has a top loved project! PLS PLS PLS PLS PLS PLS PLS PLS unblock.

ryank492
1 review
5 helpful votes
September 15th, 2020

I have been a user on scratch for 6 years. Over that time I have seen scratch turn into a dumpster fire (mostly due to the moderation team consisting of left-ist lemmings who cant control a website).
Now, instead of writing a long explanation on why scratch is bad, Im just going to list all the problems with the site:
The moderators are sensitive as $#*!
Free speech practically doesn't exist
Porn projects! (Granted, most of these are just inflation/vore art, but its still on a kids site)
Constant removal of features. (Remix tree, random project button, camera, exc.)
Guidelines are contradicting to what MIT actually does. Despite the community guidelines EXPLICITLY STATING that constructive criticism is allowed, they ban any and all critizism.
Unfair bans that deal with website outside of scratch's jurisdiction. Examples? The CrummyScratchersWiki, which was a miraheze wiki intended on archiving bad scratchers, and helping them improve. Once scratch found out about it, everyone who contributed to it was banned.
$#*!ty UI.
Neglecting their user base
Taking a $#*! ton of time to respond to ban appeals, only to send a condescending letter to you.
Toxic user base
Site pandering to younger audiences, despite most of the users being 12-18
Featured projects are just the same $#*! over and over again
Popular scratchers are now "TRENDY EPIC LOL RANDOM XDDDD" 9 year olds, instead of talented artists who spend MONTHS into 5 second animations

Please, if ANY teacher is reading this, do not use scratch. Its an awful website, and it consists numerous pedophiles that scratch refuses to deal with. Just use the offline version.

Q&A (4)

Answer:

No, a scam is trying to steal money, not just getting banned.

By Abigblueworld
See more answers (3)
Answer:

Not really easy. You need to use contact us and they can take a while to reply. A fast way to know bans is the list I made, right below here: Here is a list of automated bot and scratch team ban messages, the list will tell you what ones are bot bans and the ban type. Not all are on here, but most are here. Emoji how common is it board: This board shows the emoji rating that's on there before the ban note: 1. Common, 80%+ chance. 2. uncommon, 65%-79% chance. 3. rare, 50%-64% chance. 4. ultra rare, 11%-49% chance. 5. almost impossible, 10% or less. The percent will be shown at the end of the line. * Your scratch account has been temporarily blocked for treating other scratchers disrespectfully in comments or posts. Please review the community guidelines below. Type of ban: temporary ban made by the filter bot for comment blocking and never is typed or said by the scratch team. Most scratchers have got this ban. 91% of banned scratchers got this ban, famous scratchers include: air-animations. * This account was blocked for participating in the crummy scratchers wiki, a site that breaks our community guidelines by gossiping about and insulting other scratchers. Type of ban: scratch team banwave. It affected over hundreds of scratchers. 82% of banned scratchers got this ban. * This account was blocked because breaked community guidelines. Type of ban: bad grammar ban, might be because the mod ain't good at English. 13% of banned scratchers got this ban. * Your scratch account has been blocked for continuing to violate our community guidelines. (see below) type of ban: semi-automated ban made by the scratch mod bots, sometimes the scratch team can you for the reason if permanent. 89% of banned scratchers got this ban * None. Type of ban: automated bot ban if too many mass reports happen 87% of banned scratchers got this ban * This account was blocked for disrespectful comments. Type of ban: former, automated bot ban. This ban is former, no % is given. * This account was blocked because a alternative account was blocked and we reserved disrespectful email from you via contact us. Type of ban: scratch team ban, the scratch team focused on the person sending the mean email and saying that they found a bad email from the creator (you) only GKrisesreimagined got this ban. * This account was blocked because it was used to go around a block on another account. Type of ban: automated and scratch team ban, if it only shows the above sentence, it's a bot ban, elsewhere, it is either a bot or the scratch team 52%-71% of banned scratchers got this ban. * Anything related to the line "we ask you" or "we request you" type of ban: automated bot ban. 67% of banned scratchers got this ban. * Your scratch account has been blocked for continuing to post spam topics in the forums. Type of ban: scratch team ban. How is it possible for a bot to ban you on the forums? Only snap! Knows how, the scratch team had one other version that replaced the word "post" with create and "forums" with discuss area. At the moment, only Abigblueworld seems to have it. Maybe 2% of banned scratchers got this ban? * Your scratch account has been temporary blocked for continuing to post off-topic stuff in the forums. Type of ban: scratch team ban. Again, how is it possible for a bot to do banning on a thing connected to scratch's main page and try to mix them together. 0.5% of banned scratchers have got this ban. * please don't make spam accounts. Type of ban: 100% scratch team ban. Happened once only on a alt of Abigblueworld. (Scratchaccount_free) and this one doesn't contain the "your scratch account has been blocked" or "this account was blocked" line, or any words from the two lines, making this the most unique ban of all bans on scratch. Only Scratchaccount-free got it. 0.00000001% of banned scratchers got this ban. * Your Scratch account has been temporarily blocked for continuing to inappropriately advertise your projects. As mentioned in our previous notification, repeatedly posting links to your Scratch project is considered spam and violates our Community Guidelines (below). If you would like to advertise your project, please post in the Show & Tell forum or add your project to Scratch studios. Type of ban: temporary bot ban, mentioning the forums may be more of a problem because spamming there will affect a ban too. 50% of banned scratchers got this ban. * Your Scratch account has been blocked due to claims someone else is on the account. Type of ban: 100% scratch team ban, using the word "else" Instead of "the account was hacked" 1% of banned scratchers got this ban. * We noticed you referenced self-injury on Scratch. When anything is shared regarding self-injury, we provide resources outside of Scratch that may be valuable. We do this because we don't believe that Scratch is the best place to address self-injury. If you are feeling intense emotions and need to speak to someone, please talk to an adult that you trust or chat online with someone who can help at teenline.org or imalive.org. We want to make sure that people dealing with tough things have someone to talk to when they need to. Type of ban: semi-bot ban. The scratch team says "people" instead of "scratchers". The scratch team does ban you for this reason, but the bot sends the message. * Your scratch account has been permanently blocked for having a inappropriate username. Type of ban: bot ban, the original note is very long and has two version, but to avoid confusion, the full version wasn't put here. Only happens when your username contains hate, hates, or dislike. * Your scratch account has been permanently blocked for impersonation. Our guidelines say; "be honest." don't try to impersonate other scratchers, spread rumors, or otherwise try to trick the community. Type of ban: bot ban made by the scratch team. The thing that may annoying you is that the quote only goes on the words "be honest" like this other then quoting the whole line, that makes a annoyment. * Your scratch account has been blocked for violating community guidelines. Be honest and try not to trick the community. Type of ban: scratch team ban, contains "and" instead of "or" in the line. * Your scratch account has been temporary blocked for abusing the reporting system, please review the community guidelines. Type of ban: scratch team ban. How would a bot know that the report system was abused? * Please do not create bot accounts on scratch. Type of ban: scratch team ban. Like the "please don't make spam accounts" ban, this ban (although contains one word from the "your scratch account has been blocked" line) has no your scratch account has been blocked or this account was blocked reason, although mostly unique like the spam one. * Your scratch account has been blocked for remixing a without providing proper credit. It is important to provide credit to the creator of any content you have used in your project. Type of ban: bot ban, although rare, but not unique. * Your scratch account has been blocked for website drama. Type of ban: scratch team ban. Listen, no mod bot would know the word "drama" and put it in a ban:/ * Your scratch account has been blocked for resharing a censored project without making changes to ensure it follows the community guidelines. When your project was censored, you received a notification from the scratch team describing what aspects of the project broke our community guidelines. It is important to make changes to ensure it follows the community guidelines. Please read the community guidelines for more information. Type of ban: semi-scratch team ban. Mentions a lot of different words on scratch. Like instead of "message", it said "notification", along with instead of "your account got a message", it said "you received a notification", along with "censored" instead of "removed". Making this a stellar way to tell what happened to the project and why the account was banned instead of saying "none". * Your scratch account has been blocked for sharing links to and encouraging others to join websites with unmoderated chat. Type of ban: scratch team ban, ok, it may be strange, but this here ain't a bot ban because of the double reference. * This account was blocked because it was involved in a conversation that shared personal information (e-mail, Gamejolt account information). Type of ban: scratch team ban, it referenced Gamejolt for the first time in a ban. * Your scratch account has been temporarily blocked for continuing to spam repetitive comments. Type of ban: Scratch team ban. * Your scratch account has been blocked for claiming that the account was hacked and for stating that you shared the account password. Type of ban: 100% scratch team ban, my goodness, the word you was used perfectly (good) and they actually caught the person like crazy (my opinion). * Your scratch account has been temporarily blocked for continuing to spam chain mail comments. Type of ban: scratch team ban. Hmm, they really don't like spam.

By Abigblueworld
Answer:

Yup! You can make anything on scratch. Just make sure it is okay for younger children to see.

By Alanna B.

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the Scratch staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

The mission of MIT is to advance knowledge and educate students in science, technology and other areas of scholarship that will best serve the nation and the world in the 21st century.

How do I know I can trust these reviews about Scratch?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members
Have a question about Scratch?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business